.

Dacula Restaurant Inspections: Jan. 18

Two Dacula restaurants failed their health inspections last week. Find out which popular restaurant got a 46 and which one got a 58.

The East Metro Health District is tasked with ensuring restaurant compliance with applicable health and safety regulations. The following restaurant scores are the most recent scores available from the East Metro Health District website as of Jan. 17.

 


3523 Braselton Highway
Score: 46
Last inspection: 1/10/12
Click here for report.

 


2463 Hamilton Mill Road
Score: 58
Last Inspection: 1/11/12
Click here for report.

 


720 Dacula Road, Suite 3-E
Score: 92
Last inspection: 1/13/12
Click here for report.

 


2463 Hamilton Mill Parkway
Score: 88
Last inspection: 1/11/12
Click here for report.

 


710 Dacula Road
Score: 96
Last inspection: 1/13/12
Click here for report.

 


2700 Braselton Highway #17
Score: 86
Last inspection: 1/10/12
Click here for report.

 


700-B Dacula Road
Score: 93
Last inspection: 1/13/12
Click here for report.

 


3470 Braselton Highway
Score: 96
Last Inspection: 7/14/11
Click here for report.

 


3475 Braselton Highway
Score: 91
Last inspection: 9/7/11
Click here for report.

 


545 Dacula Road
Score: 100
Last inspection: 12/30/11
Click here for report.

 


2674 Winder Highway
Score: 87
Last inspection: 9/13/11
Click here for report.

 

Rate and review these and hundreds of other Dacula area businesses and restaurants in our directory.

Bonnie January 18, 2012 at 04:15 PM
Shame on both restaurants for not being spic & span for their customers. Please clean up your act before I am tempted to patronize either one. Not sure I'll be comfortable even then.
Lenee January 19, 2012 at 01:31 AM
Ewwww. We go to Dos Copas for taco tuesdays....yuck! Will not be going back. Haven't been to Ippolitos, I'm a die hard Antonettas fan!
Torry January 19, 2012 at 03:11 AM
ANY NUMBER BELOW 90 IS BAD.!!! jESUS.
Torry January 19, 2012 at 03:13 AM
we have ordered way 2 many pizzas from Ipp's. NO MORE THOUGH.
Torry January 19, 2012 at 03:22 AM
U need to read the inspection report. These owners just don't give a #$@QQ!!!!!! there scores have continued to drop from 100,72, to a 46. I would not ever patronize this place again ( Ippolittos) or is it " IPPOLOSEO'S) BY BY
Torry January 19, 2012 at 03:23 AM
Anoenettas on Folks
Jeremy Myers January 19, 2012 at 05:43 AM
I could care less whether a faucet knob snapped off that day, the concrete has a crack, someone changes gloves before throwing food in the garbage, or that the girl seating tables doesn't have a lid on their soda. It's called a "bad day." I'm more concerned about a good atmosphere, great quality food, and community involvement. I, for one, will continue frequenting a community-trusted establishment. People should actually read the reports before they post...
Jeff January 19, 2012 at 03:05 PM
Honestly folks many health inspection scores are a joke. Many restaurants know when inspectors are coming and can "be prepared" keeping everything perfect for a few days. Others can simply have a few things wrong and receive a terrible score. Also, it depends on the inspector. Some inspectors look at every little item and then their are the inspectors that have known the "owner" for years and let even the biggest infractions go. Last, the health inspection is unlike most. You can actually lose more than 100 points. A very well run restaurant that has one cooler that reads 40.1 degrees, a dented can on a shelf ready to go back to a supplier, and a person preparing food wash their hands for 19 seconds and not 20 and already have a score of 73! Then again, a restaurant can have dishes rinsing in warm water, have veggies being cut up near chicken (but gets put away before the inspector gets to the back), and a person wash their hands with a touch of soap and cool water and still receive a score of 100! WOW! Personally, Id rather eat in restaurant #1. Point to this long post, OPEN YOUR EYES! Is the restaurant clean? The employees well groomed? Is your food served hot versus luke warm? These are the signs that whomever is running the restaurant really cares and chances are they probably care about everything that goes on in the restaurant, including those items behind the scenes. Puttting too much faith in Health Inspection Scores.....??? Not so wise!
Jeff January 19, 2012 at 07:27 PM
Just looked it up................... You can lose up to 241 possible points on an inspection, but can only receive a 100. Truthfully, if a restaurant receives a 100, you should worry that an inspector is NOT doing their job. NO restaurant is perfect, no NOT ONE! See link below if you want to look at an actual copy of a blank inspection report........... http://health.state.ga.us/pdfs/environmental/Food/Forms/FoodInspectionForm.pdf
Kristi Reed (Editor) January 19, 2012 at 09:00 PM
Heather, As the article plainly states, these are "the most recent scores available from the East Metro Health District website as of Jan. 17." Any new scores that have been posted since Jan. 17, including reinspections, will be reported in next week's restaurant inspection article.
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew January 19, 2012 at 10:36 PM
Well it would seem that those great shops that care can score reasonably. The Patch did its job and looked out for people in the area with useful news. Its efforts are valuable and appreciated by the readership at large as are the updates provided by other readers. That’s what makes this site a reliable source of information.
Kristi Reed (Editor) January 19, 2012 at 10:56 PM
Thanks for the kind words R. We have some great restaurants in Dacula that consistently earn high scores. As someone who has lived in Dacula for over 13 years and who patronizes Dacula restaurants with her family, I want to know what kind of scores a restaurant gets. I'll be honest, if I see a low score any time within the past year or so, that does influence my decision as to whether or not I'll dine at that restaurant.
Kristi Reed (Editor) January 20, 2012 at 11:52 AM
The reinspection reports are now posted on the health department website. Ippolito's scored a 90 upon reinspection: http://gwinnett.ga.gegov.com/_templates/65/Food/_report_full.cfm?fsimID=406740&domainID=65 Dos Copas scored a 99 upon reinspection: http://gwinnett.ga.gegov.com/_templates/65/Food/_report_full.cfm?fsimID=406742&domainID=65 Both scores, along with any new inspections, will be included in next's week restaurant inspection article.
S. Hawk January 23, 2012 at 03:37 AM
Thank you so much for reporting the Dacula restaurant inspection scores and updates. We eat out often and this information is greatly appreciated.
Kristi Reed (Editor) January 23, 2012 at 10:31 AM
I appreciate the feedback and thank you for reading Dacula Patch.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something