.

We Need Comprehensive Immigration Reform

Do you know the position of the presidential candidates on immigration reform?

Comprehensive immigration reform always brings out passionate people on all sides of the issue. Georgia passed an immigration bill in the last session of the General Assembly. There have been many opinions expressed regarding the legislation from that day forward. The colleges in our state are currently reacting to the portion of the bill where unregistered illegal aliens will not be allowed to enroll for classes in any of the state universities or colleges. The issue of immigration reform has now become a mainstay issue in the presidential debates. Each candidate is trying to outdo the other regarding their position on immigration.

Where do you stand on the issue of illegal immigration? Tell us in the comments.

Several observations come to mind as I confront the matter of illegal aliens living among us in Georgia. I have noticed any time the word comprehensive is used, the user of the word defines it. Normally, the concept of comprehensive would suggest a complete idea or concept on a matter. Dealing fully with an issue would be another way of expressing the reality of what the word comprehensive means. It seems, however, that when liberals use the word comprehensive they have another meaning. Their use of the word implies there can be no other way to look at any subject to which that word is attached. In the case of immigration, to attach the word comprehensive to the discussion as a liberal means that all conservative ideas are wrong and not worthy to be considered as part of the conversation. At some point in the discussion on illegal immigrants, there is always the use of a pathway to citizenship injected into the issue.

Many years ago (over 30), I attended a seminar in another state where the issue of globalism was one of the topics. At that time the leader of the seminar predicted that by the early to mid 21st century there would be no borders north or south in the United States. The leader gave what he saw as evidence that we would have open borders with no way to stop any and all who want to enter or leave our nation when that day arrives. We are closer to the prediction now than many of us really want to admit.

Our country is a desirable place to live and people strive for years to be able to move to the USA for a better life. We have laws that must be enforced regarding those who enter our nation. For those who wish to become citizens there is in place a process to follow, those who choose not to follow the established laws are breaking the law and need to be dealt with accordingly. From where I stand, amnesty is not an option. We have laws in place to deal with the issue of immigrants. We must seal our borders, making them secure and have each person entering to declare their intentions to become citizens or to be in the country only a short time for work, or as a tourist.

Robin Kedroske December 06, 2011 at 04:53 PM
CUDO's to the writer of this piece!!!--We DO have valid immigration laws in place, the problem stems from the fact that Mexico & S. American countries feel as though these laws do NOT apply to them...WRONG!!!--If You are here ILLEGALLY, Do Not Pass go, Quit Stealing from the American Taxpayers & LEAVE!!! numbersUSA.org--Join If You want an End to *Birthright Citizenship*!!
Mario December 06, 2011 at 05:00 PM
Join the revolution. I boycott the local McDonalds because all the employees speak spanish except for the Token that speaks english at the register. boycott, boycott them all.
Ray Newman December 06, 2011 at 06:12 PM
Before we can ever reach any real solution to this issue we must make sure our borders are secure I have traveled to many other countries and they have guards that assure their countries are kept safe at the points of entrance.
Ray Stanjevich December 06, 2011 at 06:37 PM
I don't think the immigrants should be blamed AS MUCH. These are poor people coming over here to establish a better life. We should blame the businesses that hire them for subpar wages and use them. The businesses profit in a big way. I am in the restaurant businesses and it drives me crazy that I have to compete with business owners that don't pay payroll taxes, social security taxes, workers comp insurance, etc. But, until we stop patronizing businesses that hire illegals, the problem will continue. My suggestion is to boycott such businesses. We don't need a fence at the border. If you hire illegals to do your landscaping, or your construction work, or eat at restaurants that hire illegals - then you have no right to complain about the immigration problem. So, the next time you get FREE chips and salsa, ask yourself how your actions and your spending impacts the immigration problem.
Jhon Smith December 06, 2011 at 07:24 PM
You keep Boycotting and all you want, all you are is another ignorant that will never be nobody in life because your brain is not good enough to learn two languages, bilingual people is a cultural asset to this cuntry, Mario? a simple mess.
Jhon Smith December 06, 2011 at 07:27 PM
No we don't have valid immigration laws and they are by the way OUTDATED and invalid, there is no real path for immigration for about 80% of the people that want to do it right, before you open your bigot mouth make some research and speak with the truth, there is a problem with illegal immigration but the solution is filtering real criminals and legalizing hard working people. OPEN YOUR EYES.
Jhon Smith December 06, 2011 at 07:29 PM
BIRTHRIGHT CITIZENSHIP IS WHAT ALLOWED YOUR GREATGRANDPARENTS TO BE CITIZENS AND THAT IS WHY YOU ARE HERE, IF IT WASN'T FOR THIS LAW MOST OF US WOULD STILL BE IN ENGLAND OR OTHER COUNTRIES.
Jhon Smith December 06, 2011 at 07:31 PM
I agree with you opinion, we need to secure the borders from all the bad stuff that do pass trough it, but we also need better immigration laws at the same time, not before , not after.
Jhon Smith December 06, 2011 at 07:33 PM
The Problem can be solved by legalizing everybody , once you make it easy for somebody to be legal then every illegal should be scrutinized because if yu can be legal and you don't apply for it then you may have something to hide, knowing who is and who is not here will help us to know who needs to be here and who doesn't.
Ray Newman December 06, 2011 at 07:53 PM
Thank you for the comments. It is for certain that we all have passionate feelings about this issue and it does not have an easy fix, but something needs to be done to bring the full impact this issue is having on all aspects of our culture.
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew December 06, 2011 at 09:03 PM
Dear Jhon Please read your history before advising others to open their eyes. Many of us have had our eyes open to the cold hard facts by methods that were not of our choice. There are indeed MANY ways to legally enter the US of A right now; they simply need to be enforced. We have tried amnesty first then enforcement after in 1986, guess what? it failed miserably. So let’s try this first this time around, ENFORCE all current laws for ten years as is, then and only then, maybe consider modification. Require the use of free E-Verify for ALL employers REGARDLESS of size. Fine employers that violate hiring regulations. Lastly, combine all work visas under the H2A ag program requirements as they stand today so ANY business ( regardless of business type) would be required to provide housing, medical care, food and transportation to and from the job for any imported staff they hire. By making employers pay a wage plus these other items, the wage/expense differential that attracts certain businesses to the illegal market or to skirt our citizens by bringing lower paid enginneering types would be dissipated. The added benefit is the communities wouldn’t be subsidizing heath care for the violators who right now POCKET the difference as profit at the real expense of their unsuspecting neighbors.
Delaware Bob December 07, 2011 at 12:34 AM
We DO NOT need comprehensive immigration reform! That is amnesty! What we need is our laws ENFORCED! They say you can't deport 12-20 million illegal aliens. How's this for an idea? Make entering this country illegally a felony. Make the fine $2500 plus one year in Federal prison. Make this the same on overstayed VISAs. If drugs are involved, triple the fine. Then, apply this to all the illegal aliens in this country now. Leave or if you get caught, the fine will apply to them. Maybe, just maybe, this will take the place of a fence that is costly and doesn’t seem to work all that well. It may even cut down on the cost of deporting these illegal aliens. The other thing is this birthright citizenship. We MUST know through Congress or the Supreme Court if indeed a child born to an illegal alien is a U.S. citizen. I say they are not. If not, then, how do we REVOKE the birth certificates already issued. Boy, can you see the problems with this illegal immigration? Maybe Congress should allow states to enforce immigration laws, or at least a few of them. When is enough going to be enough? Tell me! http://www.14thamendment.us/birthright_citizenship/original_intent.html
Ray Newman December 07, 2011 at 01:07 AM
I am totally opposed to amnesty that has not and will never work. We need to enforce the laws we have, and secure our borders. If that is reform then we need to get on with it and reform on the side of obeying the laws we have.
Karsten Torch December 07, 2011 at 02:33 PM
So....those poor people that are living in the ghetto shouldn't be blamed if they decide to carjack somebody? I mean, after all, they are just looking for a way to survive, maybe get out of their predicament, right? Looking for food for their family? Yeah....I don't think so. The employers are a big part of the problem and should be fined heavily for using illegal labor. The countries these people come from are also a big part of the problem - corruption, deplorable living and working conditions, I don't blame the people for coming here. Unfortunately, not a lot we can do about them. But the fact is they are here illegally, and should be treated as such. They're criminals, pure and simple.
Ray Stanjevich December 07, 2011 at 04:46 PM
The underlying reason people come to America illegally is economic. My point was that if businesses would not hire illegals, they would not come here. And, if you remember, Reagan amnestied everyone about 25 years ago. And, that didn't fix the problem. Somehow, 12 to 20 million people managed to sneak into the country since then. This is because our government does not enforce our own laws. I have worked in restaurants for more than 30 years and NOT ONCE have I ever seen anyone come in to check I-9 forms or to check whether the employees working there are legal. My point, once again, is that the BUSINESSES THAT HIRE ILLEGAL WORKERS ARE THE PROBLEM, as well as the customers that patronize those businesses. Why do you think the National Restaurant Association is against Georgia's immigration law? Because it will deplete their source of cheap, illegal workers. And, until the cost of hiring an illegal worker outweighs the benefit of hiring such a person, the immigration problem will exist. It's simple economics.
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew December 08, 2011 at 12:02 AM
Quite possibly the phase "Comprehensive Immigration Reform" has been damaged beyond repair at this point. Actually, "Comprehensive" anything may get the same "Nails on the Chalkboard" involuntary response anymore as the term has become so divisive. Perhaps we can retire "Comprehensive" once more to a majority use in insurance coverage On the bright side, since ESPOLST passed, our students soon won’t be subjected to the evil Chalkboard torture. Viva la IPads! (Smiles)
LostNTime December 09, 2011 at 04:36 AM
There is a real crime going on and its called the INS they steal fees for years and never process 90% of the applications rather they continue to demand more fees or else they will delete your file...This is why people do not bother doing it the right way because there is no longer a right way unless you want to be a sucker.
LostNTime December 09, 2011 at 04:42 AM
Robin...You are an ostrich with your head stuck in the ground there are zero laws in place apply with legal path and you will be congratulated that your application has been accepted now the fun begins get your wallet ready fees will be demanded for the next 20-30 years and your application will never get processed unless you are in the lucky 5% that slip through... THE INS DOES NOT PROCESS APPLICATIONS ANYMORE ITS A MYTH!
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew December 09, 2011 at 10:57 PM
LOST, Sorry but the only fees that "never go away" are paid by those for FALSE IDs to continue to defraud. I’m sure there are unscrupulous businesses that prey on those who cross our borders after paying thousands of dollars to “coyote guides” or smugglers…
Karsten Torch December 10, 2011 at 02:36 PM
That's a great idea! Really, I mean that. We should reward all those that are breaking the law. I also think that once we legalize drugs, all those that are in prison should be let go and reimbursed for all that time spent in there. After all, what they did is no longer illegal. What does it matter that somebody decided that the laws don't apply to them?
michelle December 18, 2011 at 05:03 PM
I am saddened by this authors lack of objectivity and empathy for people he obviously must not understand, as well as many of the comments reflecting similar ideals. How difficult is it to put yourself in someone else's shoes when they are poor, tired hungry and weak....wanting a better future for their children? Is that not what your great grand parents did for you? Undocumented Workers are immigrants in my opinion and should be allowed to pay their fines and based on length of time in U.S., family ties, no criminal record they should be allowed a visa or path to citizenship.
M.K. OSBORNE December 18, 2011 at 05:39 PM
illegal immigrants have broke the law .. hince the illegal part . you can call them visitors or majic ferry dust angels on vacation , the fact doesnt change that a law was broken a crime was committed and a punishment should persue !Now legal immigrants have went through the process hand in hand with the law and we welcome them with open arms!
North Georgia Weather December 18, 2011 at 11:31 PM
Yea, I just don't understand what part about "breaking the law" people don't understand. If I went and committed a crime, I would do so understanding the penalties and consequences for my actions. If I wasn't punished, are you telling me that's OK because you feel sorry for me? Another thing, it SHOULDN'T be easy to become a citizen. Why should it be? It is a privilege not a right. Tell me one country that makes it easy to enter illegally? And if you can, tell me the penalties if you get caught. And you don't really think that only the good people are coming here, all the bad people stay behind? Please.
Ray Newman December 19, 2011 at 01:32 AM
This author understands all too well what is happening in our country when we ignore the rule of law.
R++ One of the Famous Dacula Crew January 28, 2012 at 06:37 AM
Michelle - There is not ONE thing that would stop YOU right now from legally using our current law to sponsor one such family, helping them to find jobs, housing, food medical care, transportation, language training, education, help with government hearings and essentially being an adoptive cousin for the next 15 years to ensure integration with our society for the good of the family and the USof A. I know this because I have first hand knowledge of a mirco-church, the total size of half a Sunday service choir at 12 stone. The members all chipped in supplies, time, baby sitting, training and direct love so the community was NOT burdened and no government money was abused at all. Its a REAL long term project, one the church in general is capable of doing with NO additional lobbying or changes, but so can all those who truly believe these individuals deserve this opportunity to become a citizen or legal resident alien. UNTIL those who claim that we must have MORE amnesties like we have had since 1908 can show US they are involved in the manner I have described on a PERSONAL level, I assert your claim to injustice is invalid and hypocritical at best.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something